Aussiebackhome

By AussieinOz

Doubting my sanity

It was hot today. It still is hot. And yet, in spite of the heat, I decided to spend at least some of the day baking. Not just baking, but baking pastry which needs cool. I am forever grateful that Maggie Beer's sour cream pastry is almost impossible to destroy. Today I made it with spelt flour, and filled tiny cases with cream cheese, topped with a slice of tomato. After cooking, added the final touch - a fresh basil leaf. At the moment my oven is full again with an 80s retro coffee cake. I also made a delicious fennel frond and almond pesto today, and a fennel, onion, potato and white wine pie. I would have added peas, but the little local shop had run out and I have developed an aversion to supermarkets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.