Edible

After much sleeping and a bit of back-blipping, we headed up to the allotment - spent a couple of hours there, but it was in the heat of the day and I kept having to retreat into the overhanging shade of the horseradish. I tried several times to get a photo of a very lively grasshopper who was springing about the place, but with no luck (he kept hiding behind grass stems) and then an exceptionally flighty small tortoiseshell - I did get one shot of the latter but Sgwarnog and Trev did much better. I also snapped a couple of snails who I think were 'at it' in the shade of the broad beans - but I couldn't bear to hang around for four hours to witness the climax, sorry.

So having failed to get an action shot, I wandered over to our opposite neighbour's plot. The previous long-time tenant, Peter, was of Italian origin, so had a number of sturdy artichoke plants. It would seem that the new incumbent, Jim, is not availing himself of the gastronomic opportunity afforded by edible thistles!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.