St Serf's Robin

I've taken a fancy to robins since befriending a family of them near work, who I visit at lunchtime, so I was really pleased to discover this Andy Scott sculpture of a robin today.

It's part of a tribute to Mungo, Patron Saint of Glasgow, and the armorial insignia of the City of Glasgow.

The bird commemorates the wild robin which St Serf, St Mungo's old master, tamed. It was accidentally killed by some of his disciples who blamed St Mungo. He took the dead bird in his hands and prayed over it, whereupon it was restored to life and flew chirping to its master ~Glasgow City Council

I started a project a few years ago to visit all of Andy Scott's UK sculptures. I've now photographed 61 of them. This one kinda felt made for me ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.