The Laws

By thelaws

Flood water

After the snow and ice come the thaw and with the thaw comes surface water seeking out flood plains.

The husband and the Boy decided to continue their walk along the Oxford Canal. They started off in Fenny Compton last weekend and walked the 12.5 miles to Banbury. This Sunday I dropped them in Banbury, whilst I went to Meeting and then I drove on to Somerton to meet them.

This was my view as I sat, warm in the car, waiting to pick them up. Evidently the Oxford Canal was constructed on the cheap, using the river for part of it's journey. Of course the downside to this, is that when the river floods and the water level rises - no canal boats can fit under some of the bridges, thus making the canal impossible to use in parts. See, things done on the cheap are often false economy, bit like building homes on flood plains really...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.