AmandaNaylor

By AmandaNaylor

Waterboy ...

My husband grew up on a lake and always searches out the water wherever we go. He needs to feel it, see it, explore it and understand it.

His father taught him how to sail and fish, and all the myriad connections between wind and tides and seasons. He learnt how to row a boat, and sail a boat and drive a boat, all under his father's patient tuition. He knows how to catch a fish, fillet a fish, scoop buckets full of prawns, dig for worms on the beach and to shuck oysters ... all learnt by standing by his father's side all these years.

His father also taught him how to be thoughtful, respectful, caring, determined and fiercely intelligent. He also provided the genes to be tall, handsome and charming!

I am ever so grateful to my father-in-law for being such a wonderful and generous teacher. I watch my husband with our son and I am so delighted to see that history repeats itself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.