YOUNG DOE in the CITY

What a surprise! While eating breakfast this morning I noticed this young doe in the backyard. I slowly moved away from the table – since I was right by the window, it noticed the movement. Then I raced upstairs for my camera, ran back down, then out the front door and quickly around the side of the house to the back yard. It saw me peeking around the corner, so I tried not to move a muscle! Lucky for me, it stared at me for several minutes so I had a chance to get a few shots. (Two more shots of her are on Flickr.)

We live on a wooded lot in the city, but a river runs along the neighbor’s property, and rarely a deer will wander up through the woods. (The tall purple hosta flowers were right in my line of sight to add a nice bit of color to the pictures.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.