What The Blip!

By JebusBlips

My legs...proof a holiday is needed!

The angle combined with fact one of these sets of pins belongs to me will tell you I didn't take this picture!

The photographer was my good friend and occasional running buddy, Jo.

The other set of legs belong to Leon and we were about to run in the 2014 National Lottery Anniversary Run at the Olympic Park in Stratford.

Despite a bit of breeze (a welcome change to the extra humid mornings we have been having) it was still very warm and I was apprehensive about my chances of making it round without stopping.

Myself and Leon were in the White Wave which set off second. Chris Hoy was on hand at the start line to give words of encouragement and once the gun went I think Leon had been inspired because he went off like a frog in a sock.

My pace, although slower, was still probably too fast for the hot day and I would feel the burn after about 2 miles.

There was great support all away around the course and the organisers had laid on entertainment at various points along the way.

At about mile 3 there was a point where the course snaked back on itself and you could see some of the runners ahead of you. At this point I saw Leon; I gave him a thumbs up and he gave me a few words of encouragement.

At this point I was really in pain and it felt as though I was dragging tree trunks around for legs. Something kept me going however and I did start to feel slightly better by the 4 mile marker. This might have had something to do with the mist shower that we passed through but more likely it was because I knew the end was in sight, although not literally.

As we approached the last half mile the organisers were piping out 2 great things from the speakers. The first was the Chariots of Fire music and the second, a bit further along, was commentary from one of Mo Farrah's wins at 2012.

The above may explain how my final mile was my second fastest of the five.

The heat was clearly getting to me because I mistook the 300m flag for the finishing line and started to sprint. Imagine my distress when I realised there was still 300m to go!

With a slightly less sprinty finish I finally crossed the line in a time of 43:18. Not bad given the heat of the day.

Although Jo, her husband Jamie and Leon all posted better times, I am proud to say I was the fastest Berry in the field! (there were 8 of us, unrelated as far as I know)

More of my running pictures can be found at the following link...

https://plus.google.com/photos/112779021514646043802/albums/5989928242325764961

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.