Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Harvest Time

On the way home from work I saw a combine harvester starting to work in a field. After tea I headed out on my bike for a ride around looking for a blip. I headed back to the field where I had seen the combine, but the harvester was too far away to make a good picture, so I carried on.

On my return leg I came past another field where there was a combine working. It was on a hillside, with other harvested fields in the background, and the dust being kicked up was catching the evening sunshine. This sums up the start of harvest to me.

I love this time of the year, as it brings back so many memories of when I was a kid. My uncle works on a farm, and I would spend most of my summer holidays cycling around the country lanes watching the harvest and getting rides in the tractors, before when I was older I worked on several farms during my summer vacations from Uni. The smell of freshly cut straw brought it all back. How I wish I didn't have an office job now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.