The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Clawthorpe Fell above the mist

I came down to the kitchen at 0615, and the Little Fella and Bigger Fella were sat at the table waiting for me. How do they do it? I thought teenagers were supposed to lie in until midday during their holidays. But then these are farming lads, used to being up early to help with the stock or drive a combine.

Anyway, it was worth getting up for, as mist was filling the lower ground between Arnside Knott and Clawthorpe Fell beyond the M6. It's so warm even at this time in the morning that I left the camera bag behind and just took the macro. I hadn't expected the mist, so this was the best I could do with a fixed focal length lens. Two pigeons flew across as I focussed the camera. There were fewer butterflies than we hoped, though the bigger fella was on his hands and knees capturing a little skipper (possibly to be back blipped).

The fellas had a busy day when we were in work, cycling to Dallam to see the fallow deer, not once but twice; and then they had a tour of Silverdale and another walk over the Knott. Still no Scotch Argus butterflies though, this time last year they were flying in large numbers.

I am so far behind with comments and thank you's that I am leaving comments off tonight. I shall try to catch up later in the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.