Marsupium Photography

By magi

Wasp Spider Action

After yesterday's trip we had a slow day and I went for a small walk to my favourite wasp spider spot. It's a meadow that seems to be left alone. It's full of insects and in particular wasp spiders (Argiope bruennichi). I reckon there are a good few individuals per square metre. The last few times I went early to take some shots for focus stacking. At that time the spiders were still covered in dew. Today, I went in the afternoon and the place was buzzing. The wasp spiders were very active catching grasshoppers and busy devouring their packed lunch. I did consider taking some more shots for a focus stack but it was a wee bit too windy. More wasp spiders on flickr.

Later on, I went out with my dad who went fishing and I checked out the local wild life. We found an Eastern Crayfish which got imported to Europe from America sometime in the late 19th century and which has displaced the local river crayfish. I also managed to get some nice shots of damselflies. So, all in all a good beastie safari day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.