Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

This month's rock star encounter...

After my recent meeting with Viv Albertine, I've been thinking it's about time that I got to meet another of my musical heroes... and today, my luck was in!

It's not every day that I bump into the great Gary Louris, principal songwriter, lead vocalist and lead guitarist with one of the greatest bands ever to emerge from Minnesota - The Jayhawks.

And let's not forget that Minnesota has also brought the world Bob Dylan, Hüsker Dü, The Replacements, (my previous blip subjects) Low, the Hold Steady and Prince amongst others! Quite a roll-call.

Of course Gary wasn't just in town by chance. I've been excited for weeks because The Jayhawks were due in Liverpool tonight to play an intimate gig at The Kazimier (capacity 480) and it was a perfect opportunity to get up close to the band I've been a huge fan of since their superb early 90s albums Hollywood Town Hall and Tomorrow The Green Grass. They're currently touring to coincide with the re-release of their excellent late 90s/early 00s albums - The Sound of Lies, Smile and Rainy Day Music - featuring the second of their 'classic' lineups. Aside from Gary there's Marc Perlman (bass), Karen Grotberg (keyboards/backing vocals), Tim O'Reagan (drums/backing vocals) and Kraig Johnson (guitars/backing vocals).

All of them were in fine fettle and they played an absolute stormer of a 2 hour show, featuring songs from throughout their 30 year career (and a few great covers), in very, very hot conditions. They even included a couple of songs from Louris/Perlman/Johnson's side project, Golden Smog (other Golden Smog alumni include Jeff Tweedy from Wilco, Dan Murphy from Soul Asylum, Chris Mars from The Replacements and Jody Stephens from Big Star). Tremendous stuff!

But... enough of the gig review. My Gary Louris story. At lunchtime I was on my way back to the office from a meeting when I spotted Kraig Johnson going into a hotel on Seel Street and realised that I'd inadvertently stumbled upon the band's wherabouts... After work I was due to meet Spokes for a bite to eat at MelloMello before the show and thus it was happily on my route to walk along Seel Street again in the hopes of encountering a stray Jayhawk. Enter Mr Louris! I couldn't let the opportunity pass me by so I plucked up my courage and approached him with a tentative "Gary..?" to which he replied in the affirmative. I confessed my fandom and got chatting to him about the tour, my job and where to get a decent coffee. I directed him to Duke Street Espresso, mentioned that good veggie food was to be found at MelloMello (he said that good food was hard to come by on the road) and went on my way after taking this snap.

Later, while Spokes and I were eating, the whole band (minus Marc Perlman) turned up! Gary and Tim stayed for a drink at the bar and ordered food to take out and Gary came over and thanked me for my recommendation! I was suitably chuffed!

Thanks to the band for great music through the years and a first class gig! It may take me some time to come down!


Setlist:
 
I'm Gonna Make You Love Me
The Man Who Loved Life
Think About It
Trouble
Stumbling Through the Dark
Angelyne
Somewhere in Ohio
Waiting for the Sun
Life's Little Ups and Downs (Charlie Rich)
Big Star
It's Up to You
Baby, Baby, Baby
Blue
Save It For A Rainy Day
This Boy (The Beatles - with the audience on lead vocals!)
Tampa To Tulsa
Until You Came Along (Golden Smog)
If I Only Had a Car (Golden Smog)
I'd Run Away
All the Right Reasons
Sound of Lies
Revolution Blues (Neil Young)
Tailspin
 
Here they are playing live just the other day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.