It's not a kingfisher....

It could have been a kingfisher. I have a shot of a kingfisher. But I feel it was gained under a false pretext.

After my walk I was sitting outside the cafe supping my coffee when a kingfisher launched itself at the cafe window. Poor thing was a little stunned. Someone scooped it up and it rested in his hand for a while then flew into the nearest tree. After my coffee I went to investigate and it was still sitting in the tree. It seemed OK? I wandered around the gardens for a while taking butterfly shots, then looked in on it again when I left, but there was no sign. I'm assuming it had recovered enough to disappear back to it's own patch.

Anyway, I was photographing damselflies from about 8.30am! Now that's quite a feat for me - to be up and about that early on my day off. I find it very difficult to wake up. But with the weather being so warm and the start of the school holidays, to get some peace and quiet and to cope with the temperatures, it's much better to get to out earlier than my usual time.

This is a Commom Blue Damselfly. The shot was taken as it rested on a dewdrop bejewelled reed overlooking the lake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.