CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

Bumblebee's Bum

This as you can probably see is a bumblebee’s bum, on some lavender.

I quite enjoyed yesterday’s Mono Monday – Pets challenge, and it was the first MM that I’ve participated in. However, I must say that I really enjoy doing macros – I think it’s the fact that although I may think I have a good shot, when I look at it on the computer it’s not, and vice versa.

I think I had this bee’s face in originally, but the little blighter turned around – just shows what he thinks of having his photo taken.

We have about 7 or 8 large lavender bushes around our front garden, and the whole place is literally buzzing right now (about 7 pm). All the long stalks are bouncing up and down with the weight of the bees.

We visited a lavender farm in the Cotswolds a few weeks ago, and seeing what they do with their plants, we think ours are far too big, so I think that they are going to go to the compost heap this autumn, to be replaced by some smaller ones. We think ours have become too large and woody.

They must be worth a fortune at the moment though, as the farm was selling fairly small bunches of lavender complete with stalks for £4.50 ! We may be having the lavender thieves about soon – they may be stalking us…………………………………

This is much better viewed large if you are able.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.