Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Low light, Weston Park Woods

I wanted to try a new technique I came across recently involving HDR. You take the individual frames at different exposures and import them into the HDR Pro facility in Photoshop. You then output it as a 32 Bit TIFF, reimporting it into Lightroom. You then have all of the basic toning functionality of Lightroom but a massive dynamic range, + or - 10 stops, rather than the typical + or - 4 stops. I've always found the controls in the HDR processors (HDR Pro, Photomatx Pro or HDR Efex Pro) a litttle difficult to interpret how they should be used, so much so I usually go with one of the presets. With this technique I have the familiar controls of lightroom to control shadow and higlights, as well as contrast and exposure. I think it allows for a more natural result.

If you want anymore detail just ask. I've also added one or two more images from this morning on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.