the colour green

By jukeys

reunited

Got a brilliant night's sleep at Luce and Karmjit's place in the Weege. Took the bus into town and awaited the next train to Edinburgh. Lucy came with me and whilst we were saying our goodbyes, I noticed three people from my team in my old work! I'd been keeping my flying visit on the quiet as it was so short and I wouldn't get to see everybody....so they definitely didn't know I was home, let alone on the same train as them back to the office! ha!

Luce and I said our goodbyes. It was so wonderful to see her. I will not be able to attend her and Karmjit's wedding on 20 August so I am really glad I got to spend time with her now.

On the train then...I crept up behind James, Jen, and Alistair and tapped James on the shoulder. He was so surprised! "You're not even meant to be in the country" was I think what he said :) We had a good catch-up on the 45-minute journey through to Edinburgh with promises to make a night of it the next time I'm home.

Off the train and then to meet up with an old friend. When I left for France, Jules and I parted on difficult terms :( We have been in touch recently and decided to put things behind us. I was worried I wouldn't have time to see her, so left it until the last minute to let her know I was home and that I'd love to meet up. It was an emotional reunion :) We drove along to see her wee boy - my godson, Blair - and her mum, Margaret, was there too. Ahhhh, brilliant to be with my Scottish family again :) That's what they're like to me, even though we're not related. I'm so pleased we got things sorted and it just feels like things are right with the world again now I've got my Scottish sister back :)

Went for a pint with Sam (a pal from my days in the office) and she told me all the gossip ;)

Shopped a little more before heading back to Natasha's to get some dinner and an early night.

All in all, a positive trip back. It was really overwhelming after so long in France and in such a tiny village as well. To be back in a city (and one that's not even that big!) with buses, trams, cars, and people everywhere was mental. To go into every shop and have a massive range of products to choose from was eye-watering. To be able to pick whatever type of food I wanted to eat - Thai, Chinese, Nepalese, Mexican etc. etc. - was mind-boggling. I'll need to try and get back more often in order to appreciate both places equally. The main thing though was to see my ladies, Luce and Tash. I could've been stuck in a room with them for 3 days and that would've been enough.

A couple more here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.