Credere

By credere

Saw this, thought of you....

Fab day with A - who was back from Aus visiting and for hols and V&P's wedding. It's been a great weekend in general, catching up with the folks, enjoying some lazy time in the garden, V&P's wedding and catching up with old friends :)

But back to today. Tourists in our home town - awesome! Got on one of those hop-on, hop-off tour buses. We were welcomed in out of the POURING rain! And offered 2 student tickets. Cute, I thought.
"No, we're not students, just 2 adult tickets please", I say.
"Right ok, that's 2 student tickets, £20 please...."
Nice bus driver :)

Went to visit the Riverside Museum, formerly the Transport Museum. I've never been before, never really fancied it to be honest, but I really enjoyed it, it was really interesting! I loved The Tall Ship too.

It also happened to be the birthday of a friend from work that day, one who's really into all things bikes and cycling, which is what inspired the photo.

"On the 14th of July,
year 2014,
I was playing 'I Spy'
in Glasgow's Transport Museum.

From days gone before,
A Victorian Street.
Wheeled-wonders galore!
Surely an engineer's treat?!

Objects are arranged
as if moving through time,
How some things have changed!
(And some not all the while!)

With ships old and new,
cars old - and older!
I'm thinking 'It's true!
It's in the eye of the beholder!'

After velodromes, subways
and aircraft alike.
Upon what should I stumble?
But the World's Oldest Bike!

Well it seems there's debate
over credit at the time.
'Was it his idea first?'
'No wait! It was mine!'

But I hope you'll agree,
be it one or the other,
it's exciting to see
for any bike lover!

'Saw this; thought of you'
from that bicycle display.
So here's a wee gift - for a brew,
and to say:
I hope that you had a
Happy Birthday!"

The pic went in the card, but unfort the mug (for a brew) didn't make it back home unscathed... :( Still, it's the though that counts, right?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.