On the wings of time!

By sabrina

Broken Branches

I went back and found that tree,
Where we used to,
Waste our time.
The cans and butts,
Stuck in the earth,
As a sort of tribute,
To those who used to chill.
The branches naked,
And the tree was starving.
For our company once more.
For our friends and us.
It's been quite here,
The grass has not changed,
The wind still blows,
But the laughs,
No longer echo,
The conversations,
No longer exist.

I sat there alone,
Remembering things i'd forgot.
And I torched one in you honor.
And I leaned back on the bark,
When I awoke I was alone.
In this open field.
I'm sorry I left you.
The sun rushed,
Into the fray of limbs.
I saw your shadow,
Standing where you once did.
And then you left,
Without goodbyes.
I did the same,
The summer after,
We all stopped caring.

I had to leave,
And find my role.
Friendless and penniless,
I became happy still.
But the tree became a legend.
You became what was,
Actually me trapped in a
Small town.
I've grown a bit.
But never forgot,
The minutes I spent
Under the shade,
Of that tree,
Beyond the river,
Beyond our worries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.