Cooling Off

The English Love Affair with Water

I wish it were possible to let you see even more detail in this photograph. It's amazing what this little Sony camera of mine is capable of capturing. There are so many priceless expressions and little vignettes to witness here. The more I look at this the more I'm coming to regard it as one of my all time favourite photographs. It feels almost like a montage by an artist who has brought lots of separately observed elements together in the one frame. I've tried to give it a feel to reflect that.

I found myself in Ilkley this afternoon because I had to return for my laptop. I came in early this morning, feeling very much brighter than I have done for a while, only to find that my desktop machine had died overnight. There was absolutely no resurrection. I should say that it was not so much the machine itself that was dead, only Windows. All attempts to restore it to life failed. In the end I decided to install a spare copy of Windows 8 that we had here and go back to fetch my laptop so I could at least get some work down while waiting for things to load and configure. It's all a very tortuous process.

There is never a good time for such things to happen but just when I had a little bit of a spring in my step I've been knocked straight back down again. There is a sense that I'm just not in tune with the Universe at the moment but, then, I was provided the opportunity today to take this photograph so that can't really be the case. I guess there is always a bigger picture to things.

I'm posting this early as I can't possibly imagine taking anything better to represent what has been a very hot and sticky day. I'm out this evening with Mr. John into Bradford to watch the newly released Vivian Maier documentary. Really looking forward to an evening of photography talk. Hoping to return with some inspiration. I've been somewhat locked into my own headspace recently and not really 'feeling' it on the street.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.