St Mary's Church, Hartley Wintney.

On this slightly different week I have been in a new place each day. Today it was Farnham and the day was another very productive one. Once I returned to my car the temperature was once again very high. So, I stopped for a few minutes on the way home in Hartley Wintney. This church was built in the 13th century by the nuns of Wintney Priory, although a lot of it was added during the 19th century. Sadly the church was classified as redundant in 1974 but is still maintained. I was a little disappointed that despite the notice declaring it was open to visit, it was actually locked and access was only available after phoning a number to obtain the keys. It was still interesting to see it and there were lovely views from the churchyard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.