But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Skye.

There I was quietly packing away the tent when along came this dog and place a ball at my feet. Her owners were walking a handful of assorted animals on leads around the field. After I'd thrown the ball for a while, Skye was called away and off she trotted.

Five minutes later, there she was again, soon her owners appeared with another handful of animals. By the third appearance of the ball at my feet I realised what was happening: there's a boarding kennel nearby, under new management and with a new regime (which accounts for my not having seen the phenomenon in previous years); two girls (and Skye) take a few dogs at a time for a short walk while their kennels are being cleaned, having returned them to their proper place the procedure is repeated with the next set of animals. Skye takes her ball on the off chance of meeting someone (anyone) who might spare her a few moments.

You may be interested to note that, like many of her breed, she has one white eye; it is a mutation favoured by shepherds as they believe it gives the working dog a hypnotic influence over the sheep that it is herding; it's most common in merle ("clouded") coloured dogs, see link below. My apologies that the background is too fussy in the wrong places and that the focus isn't quite "au point."
Edit: Seconds before I posted this blip, this similar posting appeared.

I’ve just posted yesterday’s “Saddle.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.