Alastair Cook

By AlastairCook

iPhone Portrait 328

Andrew John Grafton Barr, architect, London.

Andy and I have known each other a very long time. We worked together at the legendary London practice Harper Mackay. One Christmas, the day of the office party, each employee was given a fiver in an envelope to buy a small secret Santa for a random colleague. I drew Andy. But I was busy that Friday and spent much of the day at a rehearsal for Chris Evans' TV show, TFI Friday. While I was watching the Corrs, a tall gent sidled up and we had a gentle conversation about how beautiful and how talented they are. Just before I left, I remembered the fiver. I got the big lad to sign it then went to the office party. I admit to an evil glee when I handed Andy the original envelope with the ratty old fiver in it, claiming I had been too busy. His expletives were justifiably strong. But I asked him to look closer. On the fiver it said:

"To Andy with love from Robbie Williams"

Still only worth a fiver though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.