Sense of Purpose

By brainfreeze

Joensuu Games

Joensuu Games were held in Joensuu today. They are an athlethics event part of Loiste Elite Games, basically a Finnish version of the IAAF Diamond League, consisting of five separate "games" around Finland during the summer. The radio station where I'm doing my practical training was one of the sponsors of the event, so I got a free ticket. I haven't really been to any major sport events lately, so it was nice to check it out. The games were televised as well. There were over 4000 spectators and the atmosphere was quite good. At least three athletes broke the limit for the European Championships on their particular sport for the first time this season. In addition to the national level star athletes there were some international names of varying status. Former 3000 meter steeple chase European Champion Jukka Keskisalo, a local star, was one of the athletes to break the European Championship limit. When I was walking to watch the games, he ran past me on the forest path that goes nearby my flat, the second time it has happened.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.