TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

Walking Together to the Glittering Sea

Train journals. I’ve written a lot of them. Travelling from work to home. On hollidays. It had become a kind of playfull challenge to myself. Starting my legal work again after having done my daily exercise in writing&meditation for some years. The unexpected professional job left me no time for personal writing exept in the train back home. I was happy to have that job and I did not want to complain about the lack of time for creative writing.

So it was kind of a challenge. Scribble down your remnants of the day or your most important experience. In not more than twenty minutes. Time to leave the train: ready or not. Don’t think, just let it flow as it comes, without pausing, intervals of self reflexion. Writing on the move. Mind you, Great Writers of history and philosophy wrote their manuscripts on horse back. Desiderius Erasmus for instance was writing while traveling from Basel to Florence. Crossing the Alpes. Or elsewhere underway through Europe on small bumpy tracks. How spoiled we are in these Notebook-days. Padding our techno-selves into dependency.

Today there is little choice. We are already hours retarded on our travelling scheme. At our departure all local trains had been cancelled.We had to react promptly and jump on an alternative Bus-to-Train connexion which will bring us to the North Sea, today. That’s Ok. But still I have no idea what photo I could make or choose. Again here I have to trust that in the end “All shall be well and will be well…” As I look through the train window, I see this typical very flat Dutch Landscape. So different from the rough mountain valleys we crossed this morning in a slow wobbly Region Diesel.

And there comes this double feeling of longing both to our reunion with Mischa and to the sea. And this nostalgia for staying in the mountains. But we can be at one with our vital&meaningful directions and leave the retrospection. And so finally we did arrive at Sea. The Three of us. Shortly before a splendid sunset. After taking this photo of Mischa and Willemien crossing over a sandbar to the surf. The sun was red and powerful. I went for a refreshing dive. And here we are together again, the Three walking to the glittering Sea. A view from within our heart of three-in-one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.