chantler63

By chantler63

Will's Last Words

The last of my Shakespeare blips (for now) is from Sonnet 18. This is one of Shakespeare's most well-known sonnets and most of us could quote a line or two.

On a hot summer afternoon I ventured over to Didcot. Why? I hear you shout. Well, we all know of the landmark cooling towers of Didcot power station and, on Sunday, three of these towers are to be demolished; at 6 am they will be intact - at 6.01 am they will be a pile of rubble. Sixty seconds is all it will take to destroy them with the remaining three scheduled to go within a couple of years. The whole site has been purchased by a developer and I expect it will be the usual mix of shops, factories and houses before you can say 'Jack Robinson'.

Whilst not a great fan of this place, I do want to have recorded it as it is BEFORE the demolition and I do find it beautiful in its own way. I am seriously considering going to watch the actual explosion - I wonder if someone has remembered the matches!

The most dominant of the towers in the photo are to stay a bit longer. The two smaller ones to their right (same size in reality but perspective changes the appearance) with the third tucked away behind are the ones that will not be there when you next drive along the A34.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.