Inner Sense

By FranklyFrank

Hazel nut

This is a hazelnut (filbert) on one of our two hazelnut trees. This tree has quite a few nuts. It's neighbour, a much larger tree, has one! I guess it's resting this year (I have a lot to learn about growing nuts).

I spent some time today on clearing the grass from around the tree. The drip zone underneath the tree should be clear so the tree isn't competing for water. I mulched the cleared area and planted mint in there as this is a beneficial companion plant.

The plumber continued to work on our new shower. His assistant turns out to have a lot of experience with horticulture and I hope to pick his brains on olives, grapes and blueberries of which he's had a lot of experience. I'll wait till he's finished the shower though. At least today was hot enough for the outside shower but I opted to soak my aching muscles in the bath.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.