Igor

By Igor

Cornwall; day 3. As I was going round Tate Ives

There’s no such thing in our house as a leisurely wander round a museum or gallery if the museum or gallery in question has decided to include an element of competition. Done, I assume in the hope of reducing boredom amongst children. Anniemay needs no such prompting and can easily make a competition out of anything.

We have the morning off from our gallery duties and spend it in the Tate and the Barbara Hepworth gallery. As we go in, Anniemay spots an I-Spy Tate competition. She takes a sheet showing 9 elements or details from the various exhibits and the idea is to identify each one with the name of the piece and the name of the artist. There are prizes to be won!

She’s soon dashing round, elbowing small children out of the way, as she seeks to complete the task. I knew that it would end in tears though.

She goes off to claim her prize; she’s asked to choose either a badge or a wristband; “but the man at the Hepworth said I could have both …. as we booked for both museums..” No Deal.

She returns to where I’m waiting wearing her wristband; “I could always go round again another day and win a badge next time …..”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.