Not just letters home

By haylo53

Herzdorf Farm

Two of my favorite people are getting married in Freiberg, and they invited me along to witness it! The pre-wedding day was spent at Kiki's parents farm in Herzdorf, near Dresden, where according to important German tradition we all had to eat a LOT of cake. Hard job! I got a lift back with the groom and the priest, paving an easy route for a bad bar joke.

Oh, and I also learned the important difference between 'berg' and 'burg'. Berg, as in Freiberg, is a mountain, whereas burg, as in Freiburg, is a castle. A simple and barely noticeable difference of one letter- unless you're me, in which case you'd notice it a lot, because it would mean you'd have spent nearly 16 hrs travelling to the *right* city.

Oops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.