Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Hockey Balls!

I'm sure this photo could be used for a caption competition somewhere!

Day Two of competition at the Commonwealth Games and my venue today was the Glasgow National Hockey Centre on Glasgow Green. I had a ticket for the afternoon session and saw two matches in the group phase of the ladies' competition: first up was Australia v Wales (and a comprehensive win for the Aussies), followed by Scotland v Malaysia and an excellent performance, and win, by Scotland as well as some stout defending by Malaysia and some fine saves by their goalkeeper.

Full credit must go to the players of all four teams, who delivered non-stop entertainment in the full heat of an afternoon sun. I was sweltered, and I was just sitting in the stands.

Anyway, I was rather amused by the sign - near where I was sitting behind the goal - and the juxtaposition of the Australian ladies doing their pre-match warm-up routine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.