CannyScot's Day

By CannyScot

Hants Moth?

Slightly cooler morning after the heatwave of last few days.

We have returned home from our short break in a friend's beautiful caravan at Bridge of Cally. The weather there had been scorching and we had a wonderful relaxing time. There was no wifi available so I have now uploaded my Blips of Tuesday to Friday, if you would like to see them, including one of the most beautiful views in Scotland.

After all the variety of the last few days, I had no idea where to start with today's blip until we noticed a moth (or just maybe a butterfly?) sitting on the kitchen table. It hadn't moved in hours so we thought it maybe had died. I tried to photograph it but the light was all wrong. I tried to move it with a piece of paper but it suddenly flew a couple of feet and landed on a sheet which had been drying on the back of a chair.

The light was perfect and I was able to take this photograph. Being a 'townie' I had no idea what kind it was but a run through Google Images came up up with something similar - a Hants Moth - but there were others which were close in design. I had no idea there were so many varieties. If anyone knows the correct name please let me know.

Hope you are still getting good weather where you are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.