Book Update

Busy day, with little time for blipping but I realised that I haven't kept up lately with my plan to keep a record of my reading this year.

Just finishing The Phantom Of The Open; you probably need to be a golf fan to read this (I nearly gave up on it but once I've started a book I feel an odd determination to finish it no matter what). Maurice Flitcroft still holds the record for the highest score for a single round in the British Open Golf Championship (121 in a qualifying competition). He was subsequently banned from entering again but did so for several years, using a number of ludicrous pseudonyms and disguises. It develops into a fairly interesting study in obsession and self delusion.

Other books I read while in Spain:

The Book Thief
The Cuckoo's Calling
The Almond Appreciation Society
The Shock Of The Fall
Never Mind The Quantocks
And The Mountains Echoed

Off out to some friends' housewarming this evening; it should certainly be warm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.