Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

A few leaves

It looks like it, doesn't it, until you look again. Out this morning with Pip searching for the north west passage - to link up the walk I'm planning. I've been looking for a Brimstone butterfly so was chuffed to find some. A bit further on, as we moved on to Chobham Common, I saw a butterfly I hadn't seen before. Checking the book now I'm back, I see it's a Grayling, so well camouflaged in the trees. But then, so is the Brimstone. I also found a new skipper for me, so I'm running it past i-Spot.

I've mentioned i-Spot before but I'll mention it again because it's the best site I know for helping you to identify species of animals you see in the wild. This evening I added a white fluffy caterpillar and within minutes it was identified as Acronicta leporina, the Miller moth. Still no certainty yet, however, over the skipper.

NB. Just making a quick note here for next year. Looking at i-Spot the best chances of observing (and therefore blipping) a Swallowtail in the UK seems to be early June in Norfolk. Quite a few observations at RSPB reserve at Strumpshaw Fen. Looks like that's a diary entry for next year.

*I changed this from the Grayling I blipped first because Gill said I should have blipped this one and she was quite strident about it. The Brimstone is well matched to the Buckthorn here where it lays its eggs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.