I missed the blessing of the waters!

Morning and lunchtime in Stoney Middleton for the opening of their Well Dressing event. Ann was singing in the Orthodox ceremony being held in the church and I'd taken myself up the hill to photograph butterflies fully intending to be back at the spring for the well blessing. Well, on the way up the butterflies were far too frisky to photograph and in the end I sat in the shade of some trees and drew. Changing my butterfly lens for something more normal. Well as I came down (it was a bit cooler by then), the butterflies were feeding and actually hanging around on the same plant. I watched one for ages and in the end I decided to change my lens back, managing one or two almost decent shots (I find butterflies can end up looking a bit soft around the head) and by the time I arrived back in the village the ceremony had finished and Chris was helping people fill their bottles with water. I thought I'd share a couple of panels from this years display, all constructed with flower petals.

p.s. I mustn't forget to add that lunch was one of the most delicious buffet meals I've ever eaten. Many thanks to Chris and the other cooks from the village.

It's two years since our last visit

p.p.s butterflies spotted: gatekeepers (mostly), Meadow Browns, Skippers, Small tortoiseshells (on thistles at top). one Fritillary (going too fast to photograph).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.