KatGirl

By katgirl

Out of Steam

A funny day today.

We were supposed to have light snow with an inch or less of accumulation this morning. But in fact, there were 4 inches of fluffy beautiful snow when Bob and I left the house to take him to school. The snow was still coming down heavily and the 15 minute drive to school took 1 hour as the traffic moved at an average speed of 9 mph on the highway.

It was Bob's short day at school, so after I ran some errands, there was no point in returning home, I got some work done on my Blackberry in the parking lot before picking Bob up again.

At this point, the sun was out and the snow was starting to melt. Bob begged me to buy him ice cream and, as an indulgent mother, I gave in. We each had a kid's ice cream cone wearing our parkas to keep warm.

The above picture is how we found James when we arrived home. Fortunately, James was back to his normal self in a few minutes. Unfortunately, at that point, I wasn't feeling well myself. I have been fighting a cold/sinus infection for almost 3 weeks, trying to manage without antibiotics using sinus rinse (like a neti pot). But today, my nose felt awful and I was really, really dizzy. My Ear, Nose, and Throat doctor is Wonderful. When I called to ask if I should be worried, they said to come right over. And sure enough, my annual winter sinus infection has defeated me. I have have had at least 2 bouts of Clostridium difficile and am petrified of taking oral antibiotics. Fortunately, my astute ENT prescribed nasal antibiotics (definitely not a pleasant way to medicate oneself) that will hopefully keep me from getting sick from my treatment.

On my way home from the pharmacy, the sun disappeared and all of a sudden I was enveloped a whiteout of snow blowing sideways. It was a hairy drive home, but I made it home just before dark and passed out for a nap before dinner.

My nose is feeling a tidge better, but I am still dizzy and exhausted. My husband and son must be so tired of my malaise, but they rarely show it. They keep me smiling and I am incredibly grateful to them for that.

Faye, the cat, though, LOVES it when I am sick. Ever heat-seeking, I think she just loves to curl up in bed with me for my body heat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.