Hummingbird, at Rest

The air in the side yard is full of them now: tiny green birds hovering, eating, swooping, chattering, chirping, diving. There may be just a few who are regulars, but they seem like more. And I love it. There is not much I adore more about summer than this: hummingbirds!

In fact, it is how my day started. I had the cat in my arms and we were heading for the front porch, ready to sit in our chair and watch the day begin. But before we could even get there, I saw a small green form hovering just outside the window on the door, looking in. Waiting for us, maybe. Watching for us. Good morning! Can you come out and play? in the sweetest way possible.

I was out again quite a few more times throughout the day, checking on the little birds. The lilies have begun to bloom too, and they are enchanting; I'll hope to show you those soon, before the blooms fade. The first hummingbird moth showed up today, one of my "fancy bugs." I got a few snaps, nothing great yet; I'll try again. But it was wonderful to see it. There is much to make me smile in the yard.

On my last visit, it was getting close to dusk, and I enjoyed several visitors. This little bird took a long trip around the butterfly garden, stopping to sip nectar at many of the red monarda blooms. Then suddenly, I lost sight of the bird, and I looked for it for a second, only to find it resting in a bush: close enough to the butterfly garden to enjoy looking at the blooms, well positioned to scan the air for other incoming hummingbirds.

And I looked at the small, shiny, green bird; this bird of summer, enjoying a rest for a few seconds. And I thought: It doesn't get any better than this. And also: We are happy together.

The tune to accompany this scene is a love song, of course: Adele, Make You Feel My Love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.