Riverdale2

By Riverdale2

York Marina at Naburn Lock

We decided against Mother Shipton's Cave today. The descriptions of the place all seemed to indicate that a lot of walking over rough ground would be required. That sounded too much like hard work to me, especially with all the driving I still had to do.

We decided to drive into York instead and go up onto the walls. We've been visiting York for 25 years now but approaching it today from an unfamiliar direction meant we go hopelessly lost so we abandoned that idea as well.

Then we remembered that a woman I work with had been quite complimentary about the cafe at Naburn Lock so we headed for there instead. For all that the lock was busy it was also very peaceful. I never was a strong swimmer and following my operation last year I'm unlikely ever to swim again. There's something about being next to moving water, though, that I find very restful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.