Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Macro Chippie...

I decided to take a handful of peanuts out with me when I had my tea this morning ... and before you could say "Gee Whiz", a squirrel and this little chippie showed up, quickly followed by a gang of blue jay teens. (I had both cameras out with me - one with Big Daddy and the other with the 105 macro.)

When the chipmunk realized that I was the peanut-dispenser, he/she ran right up to me and jumped up on the low table where my phone and tea were sitting...along with a small stash of peanuts. I quickly aimed the macro at her (I'm going with female gender since they are usually tamer than the males) and fired off a series of shots. This was my pick because here you can see that she's already "pouched" one peanut and is attempting to stuff a second one in her other pouch. (Note: she succeeded.) I do love the chipmunks and will definitely miss them when I move to FL.

I had a little chuckle when I saw a gray squirrel attempting to get two peanuts. The poor little guy worked and worked but just couldn't figure out how to manage two and still run across the yard - so he left with just one. Immediately after the squirrel ran off, the blue jay gang swooped in and snapped up the rest of the peanuts, squawking the entire time. If you'd care to see the squirrel and a few other shots from today, I've posted six starting HERE. Included is a sneak peak at two baby robins in a nest in my neighbor's yard. (And if you're wondering, no, I'm not stalking the neighbors - I'm watering their plants while they are away!)

I neglected to mention yesterday that I decided to take fate into my own hands and plant a St. Joseph statue in our front yard. Rumor has it that doing so will speed along real estate transactions. What? You don't believe me? Well, check THIS OUT.. And, it seems that it may be working, although not quite in the way expected ... I believe we've secured a place to live in Florida! I had hubs running all over Pinellas Cty yesterday looking at rentals and the one that he saw at 6 last night was THE ONE. Yep, I think we've scored a place to live. It's a 3 bedroom townhouse in Seminole, FL, just minutes from two nature areas and about 7 miles from Hubs' office. It's been fully renovated and will be like moving into a brand, new place. Paperwork should be complete tomorrow and hopefully I can go see it with Hubs when I am in St. Pete this weekend. Yay! This is a big step forward. Now, let's see if we can't get some people in to see our NJ house!

Five more sleeps before I see Hubs. Which will make me a happy bunny.

Happy Sunday.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.