TrishaR

By TrishaR

The Hills of my Childhood

I left Blackford in 1980 and went to live in Perth, 17 miles north along the A9 and I'm still here all these years later.... I do enjoy living in the city but there is something a bit special about the little village that I grew up in. Perhaps it's the Ochill Hills that flank it, or the wonderful view from the Red Brae looking south towards Ben Ledi. Maybe though it's the memories that walking these familiar hills bring of happy family walks, with Dad pointing out landmarks and telling stories when he was a young man living here. I always think of that whenever I come back here, which is quite often!

So for my 1095th blip I thought I would show you one of the views, from the top of the Red Brae, looking across the fields, with the railway heading south and Ben Ledi (hidden by the clouds) in the far distance. This is a spot that I always said would be perfect to build a house, but then everyone wouldn't be able to enjoy the beauty of it if there was a house here. This bench was placed by the family of Barbara Taylor, one of my old neighbours who died a few years ago and Ed Finnie, a great family friend has his ashes scattered here. It's a great place to scatter ashes, but it's windy, if you get what I mean....

If I had did a picture a day I would have been celebrating this blip birthday last August, so this is a celebration of managing to create 1095 pictures instead :-)

I still love photography, probably always will, and part of that is enjoying the photography of others, that's why I like Blip so much.

Thanks all who take time to stop off here and leave comments etc - it's very much appreciated, especially as I haven't been as active of late!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.