This is how we do it

By michlan

Goodbye, old friend.

Tomorrow I pick up my new car, and say goodbye to my old one, which I've had for the past 7 years. It's seen a lot of life. It's seen our babies grow up, taken the brunt of many a crumbly biscuit or sticky lolly, transported us and our paraphernalia safely around, and accompanied us on many trips. It's helped provide lots of happy memories of driving across France, and stopping at all manner of interesting places along the way. Including Monte Carlo where I got this bumper sticker. And it's been with us to Spain, and to southern Ireland. It's no stranger to the M6 either, with frequent trips from Hampshire to Cheshire. And all the time, it's given us exactly what we've needed. It's been there for us, an unfaltering friend.

Even when we filled it with rubbish for trips to the tip, inadvertently making it home to an army of ants, and the following year hundreds of baby spiders, it still carried on, doing its job. The spider thing was NOT a fond memory for me, I might add.

This car has been a huge part of our family life, and although I'm looking forward to getting my sparkly new car tomorrow, there's a part of me that feels deep sadness at saying goodbye to our faithful old friend.

I just hope that it's next home is a happy one. We'll miss you, old thing. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.