Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

Red Arrows, North Berwick Law

My wife, my brother and I occupied a ridge south of East Fortune aerodrome on Saturday afternoon to watch some of the East Fortune Airshow. As my wife and I had left before the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight arrived, my personal highlight was the stunning, breathtaking display of pinpoint accurate, precision flying and derring-do by the Red Arrows, a whole 20 minutes or so. All over the sky, together and apart. Screaming over our heads on the ridge about 200m up. The lowest, closest overhead by one of the Arrows was followed a few seconds later by a slightly eery 'swish swish swish' sound as the turbulent air of its passing worked its way down to us at ground level. And a final victory roll low over our heads at the end by one of the pilots, which must have been meant for us as it was well out of sight of the airfield. Amazing spectacle. Here is one of the better shots I managed on the phone camera (not the ideal camera choice for such a subject, obviously!). Makes a change from insects though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.