Tarawera Times

By Megl

Rooftop View!

I do wish you could have seen where I was taking this photo...and how I got there!

A local wanted an aerial shot of the lake which included the mountain and Boatshed Bay. He was demolishing an old garage ready for a new construction and discovered the view he had been looking for.

So I climbed up on the tank stand, then walked across two planks using the digger bucket as a hand rail then up onto the roof, holding on extremely tight to Mr C. I thought I would be better sitting down on the apex but soon realised that I needed a higher view. But getting back up on my feet on a sloping roof with knees that are starting to show a bit of age was no easy feat...thanks to Mr C giving me a bit of a pull I made it...all so very elegant!

But it was all worth it as the view was amazing especially on such a stunning day without a breath of wind to ripple the water and a few clouds above the mountain breaking up the clear blue sky. Picture perfect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.