isbi

By isbi

MonoMonday:Signs

Well I can only think of one sign in Blackheath worthy of today's challenge, MonoMonday:Signs hosted this month by Gingernan. So I will leave that for another Blackheath Blipper (and post another day if no one uses it).

On my travels I am always fascinated by signs but regrettably in the old days I didn't like to waste film on them. All that has changed with digital cameras so I have re-ph0tographed a few of my favourites and made a collage (that was the hardest bit) of them.

If anyone can explain some it would be appreciated:
What does portray mean? Someone suggested "photograph" in which case this sign defeats its purpose.
And I wonder why erotic activities are strictly prohibited on the Great Wall of China after visitors have been specifically invited to throw caution to the forward slope. (Maybe because the temperature was 3C when we were there?)
Of course it is reassuring to know one's life is absolutely safe in the elevator car at the Hotel Colon, and if not there is always the complaint telephone.

One of my all time favourites, which I don't have a photo of, was a street in NZ called "Wong Way".

You may find this easier to read in LARGE.

Thanks again Gingernan for a great MonoMonth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.