WhatTheJules

By WhatTheJules

After The Storm

Bill Patzert, a climatologist with the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, said the lightning strikes that hit the Southern California coast Sunday from San Diego to Venice are extremely rare. The West Coast has the lowest incidence of lightning strikes in the nation; the odds of being hit are 1 in 7.5 million in California compared to 1 in 600,000 in Florida, the nation's "lightning champion," he said.

But, the headline reads "Rare lightning storm at Venice Beach kills 1, injures 13"

Our skies are always so beautiful after a storm, but it seems so gross to me now that this post storm sky would be so pretty.
This just doesn't happen here.
I live 3.7 miles from Venice Beach.
When the lightening hit, I know exactly what I was doing. I was getting out of my bath. The thunder, lightening, and huge downpour happened at once. My power cut out for a moment and came back right away.
I couldn't have imagined what else was happening less than five miles away.

I'm going back inside now. Not at all that I'm afraid, I just don't want to look at it.

The man, pulled from the ocean, dead, he was twenty years old.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.