City Boy

By kwasi

A Visit to the Zoo

I took Lucas to the Zoo. The day started cool but the heat built up. We saw the penguins which he likes. They were standing in their waterfall trying to keep cool. The Zoo has put up sunshades to keep them comfortable. At 11 there was a penguin walk. We didn't wait for it. We saw big cats - lion, tiger and jaguar. The jaguar was pacing back and forward in his cage. I wanted to see the sea eagles. I've been fascinated by them since I read The Stonor Eagles many years ago. They were sitting on a cliff top in a large enclosure. The information told us about the reintroduction of the eagles to the Islands. When I think of the distances they fly, it is very sad to see them cages. Do we need zoos, now that we can see so much wildlife on television?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.