Oh My Days!

By lovelupins17

Fanny Street - forgive me!!!! :O

Oh please forgive me and I apologise - but this is my Mono Monday blip for funny signs - which I thought (wrongly) was funny street names …. not like me to get things mixed up at all!!
I do giggle at the thought of living on this street at Saltaire and I know it's probably wrong but I do chuckle at the Irn Bru add too!
Sir Titus Salt built the village of Saltaire to house the families of his textile workers who worked in Salts Mill. He named the streets after members of his family and Fanny was his second daughter who sadly died of lung disease just before her 20th birthday in 1861 - not so funny any more really!!
There is also an Amelia Street and we used to always say to my youngest - Amelia - that she should buy a house on there one day - wouldn't that be cool, my name is Amelia and I live on Amelia street - I doubt you would get anyone saying that however for Fanny Street these days! :)
Thank you gingernan for hosting Mono Monday :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.