Rural Nevada

Staying in Ely, Nevada tonight. This part of the world is full of scrub land and towns are few and far between. This photo shows part of the abandoned town 'Currant' which is about 10 miles or so out of Ely (I am guessing). There is only one house there that seems to be lived in. The rest of the place is abandoned structures such as a cafe which I took photos of but I liked this shot better becasue of the tree.

The hotel I am staying at tonight has a gambling saloon and across the road you can eat in a restaraunt where the 'booths' are acually old jail cells. There is a drug store which sells soadas and shakes, it's an old fashioned soda fountain place. I allowed myself my one chocolate malt of the holiday!

The hotel room has loads of mining gear all over the walls such as spades, helmets and miners lamps, there is even a couple of sticks of dinamite glued onto the wall with a sign underneath it reminding guests that it is a non-smoking room. . .

This is the bargin night of the holiday as the room cost about £20 and came with loads of vouchers of money off things, mainly drinks and gambling things! The hotel is biker friendly and I have been warned to use ear plugs by tripadvisor as this hotel can get quite lively! Starting to look forward to less travel after tomorrow as it is quite tiring despite the benefit of seeing loads.

Tomorrow is about 6 hours on the road and will involve a trek to Bonnaville Salt Flats as MrH wants to see the land speed record place. Hoping for better weather but we'll see. The journey will then scrape along the edge of Salt Lake City down to Provo and back to Robert Redford's Sundance (land of the deep fried pickles) where I plan to sit, relax and read my book with a bit of luck!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.