Life in motion

By SierraMikeGolf

In the pink

While in the garden this morning our hydrangea was looking so vibrant it drew me to it.

This is a special plant as me as my mum bought identical ones at the same time. So as I was admiring it I automatically started to think of her.

She is such a special person, she has been and still is very ill. She was diagnosed with cancer back in September in her right adrenal gland. She had an operation on 30th December 2013 to remove it, which her consultant did. But while she was in theatre they found it have spread to her ovary and womb as well as her kidney liver and uterus. These and a cancerous mass that had formed were removed. To say she had major surgery was an understatement. It was a difficult time for the entire family. But mum bounced back like she always has from any knock in life.

Back in late April we found that the cancer had returned to her other kidney. Surgery was not an option just Chemo, which she started in early May. She has been thought 2 cycles of it now and it currently midway on her two weeks off it. So she will soon be starting round 3 on the 4th August. She has had a very hard time on the drug with some very strong side effects which have really impacted her daily life. Its really difficult as there is nothing we can really do to help her physically during her treatment. All I can do is talk daily on the phone and see her 2/3 times a week and try and make all our life's continue as normal. Taking about the near future and booking things that we all can look forward to.

But all of this aside I still have the awful realisation that the cancer is terminal and it will take her one day. So every day is important not just for me and her and the rest of the family. But it's made me realise life is for the living and I try to live each day like it's my last, trying new things and doing what makes me happy. Most of all it's made me more of a positive person and not to dwell on the negative things life deals out.

So this blip is dedicated to my mum and all other mums out there :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.