Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Underground Music

As I was leaving Broadcasting House tonight, with nothing much in my camera worth blipping for today, the sound of amplified music drifted up Regent Street from just outside Oxford Circus tube station. Once again, the lively streets of London have not let me down - and here are.... erm..... well, I confess I don't know the name of this rather good R 'n' B combo! I only caught them for their final two numbers, which the crowd - including a sweet little toddler dancing in her pretty pink party dress - loved. Then, their drum case full of coins, the band packed up as quick as a flash and left.

For those of you who enjoyed my Nick Drake blip yesterday, I have now had the privilege of listening to the six previously unheard recordings which the widow of John Martyn is putting up for auction. My team-mate squinty had the honour of lacing up the very precious tape on our heritage machine this morning to play it to Nick Drake fan Jake Bugg, who was being interviewed for BBC News by arts reporter David Sillito. The tape is 46 years old, but is still in pristine condition and played perfectly. It's estimated that it will sell for at least a quarter of a million pounds...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.