My Life With Luna

By chrisA

Harvest Time

The corn has been safely gathered and now the straw has been baled ready for carting into barns for animal bedding during the winter months. I have an unfounded dread when I see fields cut and straw in bales that the summer is coming to an end. This year is an exception that most of the harvest has been gathered by the end of July and we still have August and hopefully September to enjoy the summers sun. I can remember as a child not wanting to go back to school in September because I needed to 'help' on the harvest fields, surely the seasons haven't altered that much or more to the point I'm not really that old - am I!
I love the evenings golden glow on these bales and how they remind me of those little wooden cotton reels of yesteryear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.