Views of my world

By rosamund

Fashion

Freya and I spent the afternoon up in Glasgow as I had signed her up for a fashion workshop run by the Glasgow School of Art which was being run in Jigsaw on. Ingram Street as part of their contribution to the Merchant City Festival. While she was busy drawing and learning more about fashion I had a wander round taking in the hubbub of the merchant city. Unfortunately I was wearing bad shoes that had caused my heel to bleed before we even reached Gourock station and no amount of plasters could ease my pain so I sought refuge in the basement of the GOMA enjoying a coffee and reading my book in the wee cafe. I got back to Jigsaw just in time to see Freya showing offer finished piece which I thought was very impressive, and looked exactly like the mannequin they were working from. She really enjoyed it and seemed really inspired so we went into the art store and I got her a big sketchbook and a new set of acrylics to start off her supply kit for Higher Art. We managed to get a few things for the school uniform shop too which I've been doing in dries and drabs this year but I think I've broken the back of it now so I'm quite pleased. Hoping the Vans rucksacks last longer than previous school bags which always seem to be the first thing to go. It was a tiring but very fun afternoon, apologies for the quality of the shot, the light was poor and I had to zoom in just using my phone as I didn't want to embarrass Freya too much by whipping out my camera. The tutor with the gold shirt is a weaver so we had a fun chat about weaving while we waited for the class to start.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.