LightWave

By LightWave

I Hear You Knocking (but You Can't Come In)

We get the occasional frog on our window screens (there was one last night) - but today we had a woodpecker!

The one on the feeder is the parent and the one on the screen is a full grown baby, still young enough to beg for food (and to be fed). It was quite a sight watching the two of them on a tube feeder that isn't really designed for woodpeckers at all. They are very agile though, and use their stiff woodpecker tails like an extra limb. Between them, they made a noise fit to raise the dead - I felt obliged to apologize on behalf of my birds to my husband who was trying to take a nap. Still, it was funny! And no, baby woodpecker didn't get stuck there as I feared he might - he was able to walk up and down the screen and detach and reattach himself quite happily.

They are hairy woodpeckers, in case anyone is interested.

Polk County, Wisconsin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.